company logo

Find a Teacher

Find Students

Help

About Us
I offer lessons in:

  • Popular Piano
  • Classical Piano
     
    Interested in taking lessons with Chrissy?

    Click the button below to send a private message.

    Chrissy DealOffering private lessons in
    Beach Park, Illinois
    About MeContact Me
    Education

    Carthage College, Kenosha, WI.
    Bachelor's Degree in Music (May 2006)
    -Emphasis in Piano Pedagogy
    -Recipient of the 2006 Piano Pedagogy Student of the Year Award
    -Regular participation in Departmental Recitals (at least once per semester)

    Formal music training in piano since 1993.

    Teaching Experience

    January 2006 - Present: Independent Teaching
    -Beginners and transfers
    -Ages 7 - Adult
    -Weekly lessons

    August 2006 - June 2008: Lake County Music, Lake Villa, IL
    -Beginners and transfers
    -Ages 5 - 65
    -Weekly lessons

    Spring 2006: Piano Pedagogy- Adult Class Piano
    -Beginners
    -Team taught with two other classmates

    Fall 2005 - Spring 2006: Piano Pedagogy- Private Students
    -Beginners
    -Ages 8 and 13

    More About Me As A Teacher

    My teaching style is rather casual. I believe that students learn best in a nurturing environment. Music study is a worthwhile endeavor that has many challenges and rewards. I truly enjoy playing and teaching music on the piano and always enter each lesson with a fresh, positive attitude. I love to see a student's face light up when he or she has a great "Aha!" moment or finally gets to that really cool song at the end of a music book.

    Most of my teaching experience thus far has been with elementary aged students at the beginning through late elementary/early intermediate levels and adult beginners. I have worked with students who came to me with no music experience as well as students who had previously studied with other teachers.

    I have a home studio but am willing to travel within a reasonable distance to a student's home to teach. If you take lessons in my home studio, you get to enjoy my Baldwin grand piano!

    A Little About Me Outside of Music

    In addition to music, I also enjoy reading, bike riding, movies, Mexican food, spending time with friends and family, and trying to pick up phrases of foreign languages. I have three cats and two dogs.