company logo

Find a Teacher

Find Students

Help

About Us
LearningMusician Chat >> General Site Chat >> The Great Shoulder Rest Every Violin Play Should Have      

Viewing 1-1 of 1 total messages      

Brendan Booher

Offering fiddle lessons, guitar lessons, and mandolin lessons in Redmond, Oregon

July 14, 2012 - 7:35 AMReply to this message
I looked up as my older brother Rudi entered the room. My memory is cloudy as to what he said, but he brought with him a gift, a gift that would keep on giving! It was a new Kun shoulder rest. I was thirteen then, and I had been playing the violin/fiddle for about 10 years already, but in my brother's mind I needed something new. Something that would help me become a better player. Yes, he had the secret right there in his hand! I never imagined what an impact that small, solid, sharp looking tool would have on my playing. I must admit that at first, I really didn't want to use it. Set in my ways already at thirteen! But he talked me into it, and I put it on. Since then (nearly 20 years ago!) I have barely ever played without it. I have told many friends through the years that I can barely play without it! The Kun rest has been designed to meet the fiddler's/violinist's need in more ways than one. The first thing in my playing that was affected was my form. Ever since I can remember before I began using the Kun rest, I had the hardest time keeping my fiddle from hanging down, and had a terrible habit of just letting myself play that way. I do have somewhat of a good excuse though: I started playing too large of an instrument before I was really ready. A dear friend gave me a 4/4 size violin when I was needing to graduate to a 3/4, so I just began playing the full size instead. It was really heavy for me, and naturally I didn't keep it up as high as I should of with my arm. So I created a really bad habit. My Mom still calls it the "sad fiddle" position. Once I started using the Kun, I have been enjoying the "happy fiddle" p